Your Design Needs | All you need for creative work

All Free Design Resources

Flash Animation Artist

where are you from and when and how did you get started in Flash Animation?

I come from a small town in Sweden from the beginning, but I moved to Stockholm a few years ago to have more options when it comes to work and art. I am 24 and I have been working in the animation field here in Sweden since 2000, but not as long with Flash. I started working with Flash seriously in August 2003, when I began to study multimedia and web production. I had been curious about Flash for years though so when I finally got my hands on it and had time to learn it I couldn’t stop myself. It’s such a fantastic program!

How serious are you about flash animation? Is it a career for you or is it just a hobby?

II would love for it to become a career, but until now I have only worked traditionally, mostly with character Design Training and illustration for animated productions.

Flash Animations

Are you a traditional artist turned flash animator or did you just jump right into the Macromedia Software?
I was mostly painting a few years ago, but I wasn’t making a living on it. I didn’t really know how to proceed with my art and tried to find my way through illustration, but I never felt that those fields had the different dimensions and possibilities that I wanted. I still love to paint and I’m very fascinated by expressing moods and emotions through colors, but when i went to animation school for one year i realized that animation was the ultimate tool, it was exactly what I needed. But what you also needed was a lot of expensive special hard-to-get equipment. So after my education I found it hard to keep doing animation my own… Until Flash. I just love it.

Do you think that artists with a formal education in animation have an advantage over self-taught artists?

I think (or want to think) that the important thing is what you have to show people, not the title of your education or name of your school. But of course, if you are in school for three years or more you have lots of time to put together a neat portfolio.

What Programs and Hardware do currently work with? And why do you choose to work with these software packages?
I work with Flash MX for Mac OS X. I also like Premiere and of course Photoshop. I like Flash for obvious reasons, its easy to learn for someone who knows a little bit about classical animation and timing, and its useful for so many things. You can do almost anything with it! Premiere to me is also a very useful and logical program that has everything that I need. I’m not really into lots of flashy special effects and stuff, so it works for me. And Photoshop Tutorials is just always necessary for everything!

Who’s work do you admire?

Tim Burton is an excellent director, The nightmare before Christmas has been my favorite movie for a few years. He uses colors in a way that I like, to define a specific atmosphere.

April 2, 2009 - Posted by | Design Training, Web Design | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. That was a nice a read 🙂

    Comment by Desi Dude | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. I like flash animation very much

    Comment by VAL | April 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

